My Cramathon Summer of 2018 Participation Annoucement

 

 

 

 

 

 

Image Courtesy of VABo2040 on Pixabay 

Four weeks ago, the Cramathon for summer 2018 announcement videos starting making their appearances. Aly from Hardback Hoarder and Dylan from Dylan the Reader 5 posted a video with all the challenges listed. Even though I did not expect to participate, here I am with my Cramathon Summer of 2018 participation announcement.

Cramathon Goals

The goal of Cramathon, as its name suggests, is to cram in as many books as you can within the week. Cramathon summer 2018 begins tomorrow, June 10, and ends on June 17 (midnight).

Here are the challenges and some of my TBR options.

Cramathon Challenge 1: A Predicted 5-Star Read

Even though I am currently reading Midnight Jewel by Richelle Mead, which is easily close to a five-star read. Nevertheless, I want to move into another series while awaiting the finale of The Glittering Court. 

Evelyn Skye’s Crown’s Game involves two magicians dueling and competing to become powerful figures in their society. It is kind of in the vein of A Shadow Bright and Burning in terms of including magic as a central way of being influential.

Cramathon Challenge 2: A Book Out of Your Comfort Zone

Oh, Cramathon, why are you so tough. I haven’t made it far into Legacy of Kings by Eleanor Herman, a historical fiction novel (kind of?).  It’s definitely out of my comfort zone because it has a lot of characters that I have not been able to distinguish between them.

This book also tackles a topic that I have not faced successfully yet: the story of Alexander the Great. I have a vague sense of what that story included, however, I have not read a fictionalized (or a true story) of Alexander the Great.

Cramathon Challenge 3: A Book That Has Been On Your TBR Longest

Alexandra Bracken’s The Darkest Minds has been on my TBR for a long time, so I can take advantage of Cramathon and take on this book. It’ll be a good way to integrate more series for me to experience over the next week.

Ruby and the gang, I am excited to meet you all.

Cramathon Challenge 4: LGBT+ Own Voices Novel

I have a couple of Adam Silvera books that are unread. It’s a toss-up between his History is All You Left Me or They Both Die at the End. I may go rogue and read a Patrick Ness book. I have his More Than This novel.

Cramathon Challenge 5: A Book with Your Favorite Color on the Cover

My favorite colors tend to be around the purple-pink-red range. There are two options for this challenge. First, And I Darken by Kiersten White. It has the same historical feel that Legacy of Kings has. I am not sure if that will work or if I will be turned off by too much history.

Because of this, I am torn between White’s story and Roshan Chokshi’s Star Touched Queen. We’ll have to wait and see which story resonates with my mood. Both books have gorgeous covers, I admit. I’ll be happy either way. I have so many unread series to catch up on.

 

Cramathon Challenge 6-7: Read 7 Books

I am thinking of taking on another two series this Cramathon. Morgan Rhodes’ Falling Kingdoms is high on my priorities list. Perhaps I can use this Cramathon to give the first book a try. I am mostly concerned with the flow of other series in my TBR. What if they all require time to get into their stories? Only one way to find out.

The other series is one I am sure will be easy for me to read: A Court of Mist and Fury is the only unread Sarah J. Maas book I have on my bookshelves. I haven’t purchased the rest of her series as I am slowly collecting the books.

 

 

 

    I figured a change of pace would be a good idea for the
I spend a lot of time online. Perhaps I'm not alone in this, but it
          Welcome back to another Top Ten Tuesday. This week, the
dinasoaur
awk. 30s. hufflepuff, muslim, vegan, novice yogi, mental health, photography, book blogger, she/her

Author: dinasoaur

awk. 30s. hufflepuff, muslim, vegan, novice yogi, mental health, photography, book blogger, she/her

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *